Breaking: Ontario election: Three Filipino-Canadian political aspirants fail to win seats


Aspirants lose in Conservative sweep


Teodoro ‘Ted’ Alcuitas
Editor, PCN.Com)

Three aspiring kababayans failed to win seats in the Ontario provincial elections held yesterday, May 2, 2022.

The Conservatives were reelected to a second term with a wide majority.

The three – Paul Saguil for the Liberals and Veronica Javier and Christina Santos for the NDP were defeated in their first bid to become members of the Ontario Provincial Legislature.

Paul Saguil, who ran in Willowdale, came in a close second to incumbent PC Stan Cho. Saguil garnered 38% at 11, 990 votes to Cho’s 44.7% at 14, 105.

Christina Santos, NDP, in Ajax-Pickering, lost to PC Patricia Barnes at 40.7% (15, 336) and Amber Brown, NDP at 36% (13, 561) and Santos 16.7% (6, 291).

NDP Christina Santos.

The NDP’s Veronica Javier for Scarborough-Guildwood came third at 16.7% (4,824), PC Alicia Vianga 31.5% (9,124) and the Liberal’s Mitzi Hunter at 46.3% (13, 404).

NDP Veronica Javier.

No Filipino-Canadian has been elected to the provincial legislature in Ontario while Manitoba has two members and B.C. has one.

Related reading:

Ontario Provincial Elections:Three Filipino-Canadians enter race


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top