Halalan -mga patakaran sa Overseas voting

Elections Commission issues guide

1.6 million expected to vote

By Charmaine Janis Rodriguez

The Philippine Commission on Elections (Comelec) released last January 18, 2022 the final list of modes for overseas voting for the May 2022 elections.

Based on Comelec resolution 21-1431 dated December 16, 2021, the information provides a guide for over 1.6 million registered Filipinos who will vote overseas.

Due to the pandemic, most of the voters are allowed to mail in their ballots.

Some embassies and consulates will allow in-person voting.

For details, one may visit the Comelec website at https://comelec.gov.ph/?r=OverseasVoting/2022NLESpecificModes/SpecificModesOfOverseasVotingAmended.

For Filipinos in Canada, they may refer to the table below.

The last column indicates the mode of the counting of ballots, which are either manual or through the Automated Election System (AES).

According to the Comelec calendar, registered overseas Filipinos will be able to cast their votes from April 10 to May 9, 2022.

Section 4 of Republic Act 9189 or the The Overseas Absentee Voting Act of 2003 provides that “all citizens of the Philippines abroad, who are not otherwise disqualified by law, at least eighteen (18) years of age on the day of elections, may vote for president, vice-president, senators and party-list representatives.”

Last January 17, 2022, the Comelec also released the official list of candidates for national posts.

The list included Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. despite the cases he is facing questioning his qualifications to run for President.

He is among the 10 official candidates for president. They are:


  • Ernesto Abella
  • Leody de Guzman
  • Norberto Gonzalez
  • Panfilo Lacson
  • Faisal Mangondato
  • Ferdinand Marcos Jr.
  • Jose Montemayor Jr.
  • Isko Moreno
  • Manny Pacquiao
  • Leni Robredo

Meanwhile, there are nine candidates for Vice President. 

Vice President

  • Lito Atienza
  • Walden Bello
  • Rizalito David
  • Sara Duterte
  • Manny Lopez
  • Dr. Willie Ong
  • Francis Pangilinan
  • Carlos Serapio
  • Tito Sotto

The ballot also includes 178 party-list groups and 64 senatorial candidates.

Printing began last January 20, according to a ph.news.yahoo.com report. 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: