Breaking: Bago na ang gobyerno sa B.C.: NDP takes power in B.C.

British Columbia

Mable Elmore bypassed for cabinet

By Ted Alcuitas

Three-termer MLA Mable Elmore has been bypassed for cabinet in today’s announcement of the New Democrat’s swearing-in ceremony.

Instead, the MLA for Vancouver-Kensington, where a substantial number of her constituents are Filipino Canadians,  has been relegated to the position of Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Social Development and Poverty Reduction.

The minister is Vancouver-Hastings Shane Simpson, a four-term veteran.

Parliamentary secretaries assist the Minister and answer questions in the House in their absence. They also serve as a training ground for future cabinet ministers.

The 22-member cabinet has two new members of the ethnic minority – Katrina Chen (Burnaby-Lougheed) as Minister for Child Care and George Chow (Vancouver-Fraserview) as Minister of State for Trade.

The first indigenous person to be elected in the province, Melanie Clark (Vancouver-Mount Pleasant) has been appointed as Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Training.

The full cabinet list:

* Premier – Hon. John Horgan

* Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Training – Hon. Melanie Mark

* Minister of Agriculture – Hon. Lana Popham

* Attorney General – Hon. David Eby

* Minister of Children and Family Development – Hon. Katrine Conroy

* Minister of State for Child Care – Hon. Katrina Chen

* Minister of Citizens’ Services – Hon. Jinny Sims

* Minister of Education – Hon. Rob Fleming

* Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources – Hon. Michelle Mungall

* Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy – Hon. George Heyman

* Minister of Finance and Deputy Premier – Hon. Carole James

* Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations, and Rural Development – Hon. Doug Donaldson

* Minister of Health – Hon. Adrian Dix

* Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation – Hon. Scott Fraser

* Minister of Jobs, Trade, and Technology – Hon. Bruce Ralston

* Minister of State for Trade – Hon. George Chow

* Minister of Labour – Hon. Harry Bains

* Minister of Mental Health and Addictions – Hon. Judy Darcy

* Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing – Hon. Selina Robinson

* Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General – Hon. Mike Farnworth

* Minister of Social Development and Poverty Reduction – Hon. Shane Simpson

* Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture – Hon. Lisa Beare

* Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure – Hon. Claire Trevena

Parliamentary secretaries

* Parliamentary Secretary for Emergency Preparedness – Jennifer Rice

* Parliamentary Secretary for Poverty Reduction – Mable Elmore

* Parliamentary Secretary for Seniors – Anne Kang

* Parliamentary Secretary for Sport and Multiculturalism – Ravi Kahlon

* Parliamentary Secretary for Technology – Rick Glumac

* Parliamentary Secretary for TransLink – Bowinn Ma


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top