Marcelino (centre) is the first Filipina to be elected to a provincial legislative assembly and the first woman  of colour to become a cabinet minister. (Facebook)

First update: 9:45 PM, August 21, 2018

Winnipeg, Manitoba

First woman of colour and first Filipina elected to Manitoba legislature

By Ted Alcuitas

The Manitoba legislature has added MLA Flor Marcelino as one of the women trailblazers in the province in an announcement today. Her picture will hang together with other women who have been recognized for the first 100 years .

The NDP MLA, who is serving her third term said in her Facebook post that she was “intrigued by the invite from Speaker Myrna Driedger to be at the Legislative building today without details of what it will be about, I came just the same to be surprised but humbled and grateful for the honour of being one of the women trailblazers in Manitoba for the first 100 years (1916-2016).” A permanent photo gallery of the honourees now graces the wall across the western door of the Chamber.

Maraming salamat. Alay ko ito sa lahat ng kababaihan ng ating multicultural community—especially ang mga kabataan tulad ninyo,” she posted on her Facebook page Flor Marcelino after receiving hundreds of congratulatory messages.

MLA Flor Marcelino’s picture hangs together with other women in  the Trailblazers Wall on the second floor west hallway at the Manitoba Legislature.Directly above her is former Senator Sharon Carstairs who was the former Liberal Party Leader of Manitoba. (Facebook)

Eighteen female legislative trailblazers were honoured  on Tuesday, celebrating the achievements of women who were or are in positions traditionally held by men or worked to forge new pathways for women.

Since women were granted the right to vote in Manitoba on Jan. 28, 1916, only 51 women have been elected to the Legislature as MLAs and only a small number have served as Officers of the Legislative Assembly. The exhibit recognizes those trailblazers of the first 100 years. The project was started two years ago.

The three Manitoba Filipino-Canadian MLAs. From left,  Ted Marcelino, NDP  (Tyndall Park), Jon Reyes, PC (St. Norbert) and Flor Marcelino, NDP (Logan). (photo: Jon Reyes, MLA, FB) Philippine Canadian

First woman to be elected seeks third term